The first recipe post in our mother-daughter blog project. Starting with a very simple dish that I came up with using the ingredients I had in my cupboards and fridge. (I had some rucola left over from days earlier that needed to be used. And some frozen spinach in the ice box. Adding rice and a boiled egg - voilà, we have a whole set meal. Everyday cooking can be, and truly is, a very innovative process!)

Just like most of the dishes this student girl cooks up for herself: Keeping it simple - but tasty.

1252521606_img-d41d8cd98f00b204e9800998e

 

Spinach Fried Rice

(this amount serves two)

 

2 dl rice (or barley)

water for cooking

(some chives for additional taste, if wanted)

 

1 medium-sized onion (diced)

1 Tbsp. extra-virgin olive oil

1-2 Tbsp. butter (or Oivariini, as I use)

150 gr. (frozen) spinach

Flavour according to taste with:

salt or Herbamare

white and black pepper (ground)

 

I take it for granted everybody knows how to cook up a pot of good old plain rice (or barley, which I favour as a more domestic ingredient), so lets skip right to the frying part.

Heat oil and butter in a wok pan, add onions, stir. Soon after add spinach. Mix well (and if you use frozen spinach, like I did, let the spinach melt into the mixture) and add rice. Flavour with salt, white and black pepper. Simple, isn't it?

Serve with boiled eggs on a bed of rucola salad.

Sprinkling some sunflower seeds on top isn't a bad idea, either. I didn't bother taking a picture of a half-eaten portion at the point I came up with the idea, though.

 

- M.E.